Bientôt La Fin

by EmilyEsposito

I no longer have to wear three sweaters, two pairs of socks and my scarf inside my apartment; winter is finally gone! But, as happy as I am to wear one layer of clothing, spring also means my time in Tarbes is almost over. I now have my return ticket home to Seattle for the end of May. Don’t get me wrong, I am excited to see my family, live in a city I love and find the perfect job (fingers crossed). But, as always, it is a very bittersweet feeling to close an important chapter in my life. The past couple months have flown by- here are some of the highlights.

If you have said at least ten words to me, you know that I love peanut butter. A ridiculous amount. So much so that I even wrote an article about it (you can read it here). My parents sent me the best Valentine’s Day gift to date: two jars of Jif peanut butter and two packs of Reese’s (my peanut butter addiction is heightened when I’m in France, I think because I know there is a limited supply of my precious Jif).

I went to Seville (and also Madrid and Lisbon) for February break. Seville is one of the best cities I’ve been to and I recommend it to anyone. It is a lively, fun city with so much interesting history. The Moors occupied Seville for five hundred years and you can see the Moorish influence everywhere in Seville. For example, this picture was taken at the Alcazar of Seville, the royal palace that was originally a Moorish fort.

I went on a beautiful hike at Pont d’Espagne in the Pyrénées mountains. Don’t let this picture fool you. Yes, there is a lot of snow, but it was probably about 65 degrees. I was wearing two sweaters and my winter jacket that day (I was so used to multiple layers), but I ended up carrying the extra sweater and my jacket! And by the end of the hike, we all had a nice little sunburn glow.

I finally had a soy latte at Starbucks and had my name horribly misspelled.

