Castle Week

by EmilyEsposito

This past week has been amazing; partly because I finally have hot water and will never take an ice cold shower again, and partly because I found a loofah! (after a two week hunt).

I haven’t even lived in France for a full month yet, but I feel like I’ve always been here. Everything has fallen into place so quickly and perfectly. I have two amazing girlfriends who I do practically everything with and we have found the Erasmus students; a great group of students who, like me, want to learn and grow in the French culture.

Living abroad is a beautiful experience because you meet people from all over the world that you would never otherwise meet. In Tarbes, a small city in France, I have met Columbians, Brazilians, Germans, Argentinians, and Canadians. These friendships seem to grow so much faster abroad. We all share that same quality that made us decide to leave our comfort zones and live in a new country. And when we meet each other, it just clicks.

I have also become very friendly with large castles and fortresses. In fact, I’ve decided that the theme of October is castles. My brain is now jam-packed with castle trivia, but since I always get my Georges and Henris confused, my facts are not always accurate.

The fortified city of Carcassonne

Carcassonne, France

I also had my first week of teaching. I have 12 classes a week and my students are between 7 and 10 years old. I really enjoy sharing the American culture with them, like teaching them about Seattle, and it is gratifying when I notice their improvements in English. And, being around children all day is also extremely hilarious. My students thought I lived in the White House, they thought Seattle was in the state of Las Vegas, England and Australia, and they drew me pictures of the German and Finnish flag (I still have no idea why).

I am teaching three days this week, then I have a vacation. My life is so hard 🙂

