Off Again!

by EmilyEsposito

Bonjour tout le monde!

Please follow me on my next adventure in France! This time, I will be teaching English at an école primaire (ages 6-11) in Tarbes, France. My contract is seven months long and I have about five weeks of paid vacation (in other words, I will be completely spoiled when I come back to the states!).

Jardin Massey, Tarbes

Don’t worry, I didn’t know where Tarbes was either when I learned that I was assigned to the city. Tarbes is in the Hautes-Pyrénées department in south-western France. The city is on the border of Spain and is nestled in the Pyrénées mountains. It is about two hours away from Toulouse.

My best friend from my semester in Aix-en-Provence in 2010 is also a teaching assistant in the Toulouse region (she will be living two hours away from me). It is a completely different feeling going back to France knowing you have a great friend there, as opposed to arriving completely alone. Our first vacation is two weeks after our official start date, so I can’t wait to spend hours researching flights on RyanAir and EasyJet again (Germany is on the top of my list).

I have a little over a month before I leave. In many ways, the time before your trip is the most enjoyable. You are living with the knowledge that you are about to travel the world and start a new adventure and, at the same time, you get to spend time with your closest friends and family. Although I am very used to saying goodbye, this time will be especially hard. Luckily for everyone, I am an excellent penpal 🙂

